Awards and Fellowships

Annually, our PhD students have received competitive awards and fellowships, including:

  • The Peter Ackerman Award
    • This award is given yearly to the outstanding doctoral dissertation at Fletcher demonstrating scholarly merit, originality, and contribution to the field and to society.
    • Recipients
      • 2015 - Ches Thurber "Between Mao and Gandhi: Strategies of Violence and Nonviolence in Revolutionary Movements"
      • 2014 - Daniel Reifsnyder "Achieving a Domestic Consensus on Global Climate Change in the United States: Sine Qua Non to an Effective Global Response?"
      • 2013 - Courtney J. Richardson "The Chinese Mirror Has Two Faces? Understanding China's United Nations Peacekeeping Participation"
      • 2012 - Georgia Lyn Kayser, “An Empirical Study of the Millennium Development Goal for Water: The Relative Merits of Drinking Water Technologies and Technical Assistance in the Honduran Highlands”
  • Jennings Randolph Fellowship, United States Institute of Peace 
  • Pre-Doctoral/Post-Doctoral Fellowship, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University
  • Boren Award, NSEP Boren Program
  • Doctoral Fellowship, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation
  • Pre-Doctoral Research Fellowship, Brookings
  • Pre-Doctoral Fellowship, Center on International Cooperation, New York University
  • Eisenhower-Roberts Doctoral Fellowship 
  • Fulbright Fellowship, The Fulbright Program
  • Morris Abrams Award in International Relations
  • Vasey Fellowship, Pacific Forum CSIS
  • PON Graduate Research Fellowship, Program on Negotiation, Harvard Law School
  • Smith Richardson Strategy and Policy Fellowship
  • Smith Richardson Pre-Doctoral Fellowship
  • African Studies Association Best Graduate Student Paper Prize
  • RAND Summer Associate

Apply Now

Request More Information from Fletcher